Santeria House

My father bought a bigger townhouse down the street from where I had lived since the day I was born. The previous owner’s kids had grown up with my uncle, and now that the kids  were grown and out of the house, the parents had decided to downsize.

It was your average 1970’s built home with burnt orange shag carpet,  gold glitter in the popcorn ceiling, and dark brown tile and cabinets. Think of The Brady Bunch kitchen decor, and you’ll have an exact picture of what I am describing. However, there was something different in the unfinished basement. The mother had left her Santeria alter in the Northeast corner. At closing, she asked my father not to touch it until she could perform the proper rites. Of course, my father didn’t listen.

I believe that my father’s decision to take apart and throw out the alter caused the various incidents in the house, some of which I heard second hand and others I had experienced. 

My next few posts will be about the experiences we had during the four years we lived in this house.

#1

My father closed on the house duribg the late spring. However, we did not move in right away, because he had gutted the lace down to the studs.

One warm, breezy day, my father was working on laying tile on the kitchen floor. All of the windows and doors were open, including the basement and garage doors in case he had to use a specific tool or get to his extra materials.
As my father was on his knees lining up squares of tile, a mustached man wearing jeans, a flannel, and a cowboy hat walked up thebasement stairs. Our basement did not have a door to the outside, so the door that led into the kitchen was the only way in or out of the basement. The man tipped his hat to my father.

My father stopped what he was doing and began to follow the man down the hallway and through the garage door. As the man approached the edge of the driveway, he faded.

Weeks later, when my father mentioned it to the couple’s son when he stopped by for a visit withmy uncle the son said, “Yeah… That was Uncle Angel. He knew it was time to go.”

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

